Dappled and Drowsy and Ready to Sleep

The weekend after APE turns out to be my first completely relaxing one in ages.  “No deeds to do, no promises to keep.”  Just hangin’ out in my cozy new place, drinking with friends, sleeping in with kitties, eating cereal.  Started knitting some socks.  Ahhh.

 

So APE was a ton of fun.  My table buddy, Scott, turned out to be quite lovely, just the ideal partner, providing me with tons of bathroom breaks and baby talk (I mean, we talked ABOUT babies, not baby-talked to each other, ya perv).  His book is called, funnily enough, SINGLE.  We had the SINGLE table.  We memorized each other’s pitches (not voluntarily).  Good fun.

 

I got to spend a lot of time with my girl Molly.  Molly lives in Santa Barbara and is just ridiculously special.  Her comics are a world unto themselves.  So is her laugh.

 

Miriam Libicki and Mike Yoshioka, married superstars, are rapidly becoming two of my favorite people.  Miriam just published her first TPB of her comic Jobnik!  I read the thing in its single issue format, and I still can’t believe how good the trade turned out.  Also, she wore a pot on her head to the Last Gasp party.

 

There are so many great people in the comics industry.  Sunday night at the Isotope after party, I got to see Dame Darcy sing an old english ballad from the upper level in half-darkness with only tambourine to guide her.  It was so quiet in there… such a beautiful moment.

 

Best of all (for me, natch), I got to debut Florride and The Single Girls.  Bittersweet, it was.  I am retiring  the double-R Florrid cycle, and Florride is the last in that series.  And Florridian sold out!  But not to worry: next year I will be publishing all three together in one volume, so set aside a little of yer Christmas money for that.  The Single Girls, ahh, I just love it.  It was so much fun to write, draw, everything.  I felt so proud putting all my books out on display, and other people seemed to like ’em too!  Here’s what my table looked like:

 

How can pink *not* make you happy?  I ask.

 

Every other goddamn picture of my weekend can be seen here.

 

Now that that’s over, I have updated my Etsy store and you will now find Florride and The Single Girls for sale there, yeehaw!!

 

* * * * * * *

OTHER NEWS

Thanks to everyone who voted the way I asked.  Now we have a new President, and I am just tickled to death.  I am a little bit in love, seriously.  Fuck this “Elect” shit.  He is my President.  He will probably always, in some way, be a little bit my President.

You know how they say when you fall in love, every corny, cheesy song on the radio suddenly sounds like pure genius to you?  That’s happening to me now with patriotic songs.  I honest to god got choked up listening to “America the Beautiful” on the radio yesterday.  Tears.

 

I also want to say, in regards to my other work: if you live near a library, and you go to it, and you are comfortable with things of this nature, please give your librarian a hug because they probably need it.

 

That’s it angel pies.  Putting my sore throat to bed now.  Night!

–Amy

Leave a Reply

