Mary

Mary is Jeanette’s roommate.  I wish I was their roommate, too.  Like Starland Vocal Band, my motto’s always been “when it’s right, it’s right,” and lounging with Mary on M and J’s couch watching the DVDs I brought of 90210, season four, felt so right.  I feel most tv shows benefit greatly from some additional dialogue provided by the viewers.  I feel the same way about movies, which makes people not want to take me to the movies very often.  I’m okay with that because I have restless leg syndrome, yes, just like in the commercials, and movies in theaters mean hours of leg pain for me, AND I am not allowed to make witty comments?  Forget it!  The court of Louie the 14th would never have stood for it, and I don’t stand for it either.  But I WISH I COULD, because then my leg pain would go away!  Ha! ha!  You see what I mean about me and wit? 

Watch 90210 on the couch with me, but don’t take me to the movies.  Don’t take Mary to the movies either.  You’ll be missing out.  The girl made up a voice for Brandon’s eyebrows.  They do not make enough people like Miss Mary here.

 

Mary and I met up at the UGA library to get the bus home together.  I’d spent the whole day wandering Athens and sketching these little cartoons.  It started raining buckets right as we were walking to the door.  Someone said “it’s a real Georgia downpour!”  I guess downpours are about the same everywhere.

This was not the same night; this was a night it didn’t rain.  Jeanette worked late, so I had Mary all to myself.  We talked about cooking food from the farmers’ market—we even WENT to the farmers’ market—but we ended up going out for pizza.  If you ever want to really impress me, take me for pizza.  I am a Chicagoan.  Pizza is in my blood and makes me weep.  I have an appreciation for all levels of pizza, from the super-fancy brick oven artisan pies you can get at Boot and Shoe or Pizzaiolo, to the true Chicago deep dish of Giordanos (we’re talking three inches cheese, one millimeter sauce), to the lowly Safeway brand frozen five-dollar thin crust.  The only way to really anger me where pizza is concerned is to try to convince me that some type of pizza is superior to all others.  People*, THERE IS A TIME AND A PLACE FOR ALL PIZZA.  Don’t hate.  Respect.

*Haha, I almost wrote “Pizza” there.

Leave a Reply

