So nice

 

It’s beautiful out!  75 degrees in San Francisco today.  And Thanksgiving is in two weeks!! Yeesh!

Also sunny and beautiful is my path in the comics world.  Responses have been really good to the two newest books, and the work is smoother and more fun than ever, which makes me think I am on the right track.  I have two new books in the works, and I have at least rough outlines done for both, and some of the writing done as well.  When I think about goal setting, I think that I would like to have both done by the beginning of next summer, plus the collected “Florrid” cycle.  This means I will have to save my pennies.

Above is a sketch from my doodling on new project #1; I have drawn a few pages, but I’m not totally satisfied with them, so I am chalking them up to sketches/studies and will re-draw them.

* * * * * * * *

So I’ve been sick all week, and I haven’t felt *that* bad, except that I completely, totally lost my voice.  That has never happened to me before!  And it’s taking so damn long to come back.  I’m used to feeling sick, sleeping a day, back to work the next.  This week I’ve been home sick every day, because my job requires me to talk (and sing, etc) all day long and I can’t do it.  So I’m just settin’ here knitting, doodling, cleaning over and over, fucking around on the internet.  The Horribles are tired of me, and I of them. 

The worst thing is, it’s like social isolation.  I can’t work.  I can’t talk on the phone.  I can’t hang out and get drinks.  I can’t go to therapy.  And try going to a party where you only know one person when you can’t talk!  You are the biggest wallflower on earth, and also kind of a jerk.  I only stayed about half an hour, and I got all dressed up too.  Maaan. 

Also, I hate tea.

It’s been rough.

 

* * * * * * * * * * * * *

Much as I support the overturning of Prop. 8, I would like to see a real revolution in society where we are valued and given benefits as individuals, rather than in partnerships historically based on merging property.  When we can love whoever we want, why is marriage so goddamn important?  Because there is power given to us when we join assets in legal contract.  Why can’t we share insurance benefits with any one person we choose, whether they are our lover, our sister, or the neighbor who doesn’t have any?  Why do my friend and her Australian husband have to prove that they are In Love for him to stay in the country?  Why do we continue to obfuscate love and legislation?  What does love and the bonding and touching of souls have to do with law?  We will win marriage equality for queer people in our lifetime, I am geniunely sure.  But that still leaves out polyamorous family units.  Elderly folks whose true loves have passed away.  Best friends who don’t happen to want to have sex with each other.  People who find their strongest family bond through something other than a single, solitary other person who reciprocates their feelings exactly. 

Or maybe I am just a bitter, dried up, croaky-voiced spinster who’s spent way too much time with her cats this week.

XOXO,
–Amy

3 thoughts on “So nice

  1. I remember having this conversation with you at Simon’s one night. It has always stuck with me as a point that doesn’t get expressed too often and I appreciated it. I did read an article arguing the same point for my homework for The Jons’ wedding. I’m glad you wrote it out here.

  2. Hey Amy! I am excited that I found this website so I can buy your stuff.I think your musings are interesting, but having suffered through a year and a half of law school, and therefore, having become 1/2 soulless, I have to respectfully disagree. The problem here is the potential for human conflict, not the potential for human sharing. In fact, I believe that gay marriage is so important because of gay divorce.The fact of the matter is that no matter what, people in any sort of intimate relationship are going to share time, property, and rights. The more intimate the relationship, the more likely people are to share with each other. That’s the beautiful part of being human. So gay people who love each other end up sharing houses, business, and probably most importantly, children. So, when gay folks break up, they have to sort all of these things out, and they might have to sort them out when they are extremely angry with each other, making resolution difficult.The same thing goes for international marriages. We as a society don’t want to tell lovers that they can’t live together, but what about those unstable international relationships which break up too soon? However, this is more of a problem of immigration policy than love. Why don’t we just open our borders and allow the free movement of peoples? The question of insurance is also a different policy issue–why don’t we just provide everyone health insurance through a single-payer system? Of course, in terms of life insurance, right now you can designate anyone in the world as your beneficiary. So the question is, given that freedom, why don’t more people choose to share their life insurance benefits?

Leave a Reply

